Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database It has more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Ebook CentralSearch a digital library from Proquest with over 100,000 scholarly, full-text e-books.
Explora High SchoolsExplora is a specifically tailored research, search experience designed for the needs of secondary school students and teachers from Ebsco.
History Reference CenterHistory Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
JSTORVisit a digital library containing 1,500+ academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Literature Resource CenterExamine articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays and biographies to learn about authors, their works, and literary movements.
Century of Conflict Paper #2: The Great War on Film
Purpose: This paper is designed to let you research and write about a film that is closely related to World War I, either in setting or theme. You will have several options to help you meet this goal.
All Quiet on the Western Front (1930)
We will watch this Oscar winning film as a class during tutorials and it is REQUIRED! But, you don’t have to write your paper based on it. Instead, use it to compare with the other films, meaning you MUST see this film before you watch and review another movie on this list.
- Provide a quick summary (one to two paragraphs). Explain the basics of the film’s characters, plot and setting. Be brief, but clear.
- How is the Great War portrayed in the film? As a tragedy? As a just war? As great adventure? As a crime? REMEMBER TO REFERENCEAll Quiet on the Western Front.
- How do the characters see themselves? As victims or as humans of free will?
- How is the technology of the Great War shown?
- Why did you decide to select this film? What did you expect to learn from it or react to it? How did it shape your views of the Great War?
All Quiet on the Western Front
- "all quiet on the western front"
- motion pictures
- Lewis Milestone
(use Advanced Search)
Gale will automatically provide the search term "All Quiet on the Western Front (Motion picture)"