33 1/3 Book Series33 1/3 is a series of short books about a wide variety of albums, by artists ranging from James Brown to the Beastie Boys. Launched in September 2003, the series now contains 115 titles and is acclaimed and loved by fans, musicians and scholars alike.
Call Number: ML421.T447
Controversies of the Music Industry by Richard D. Barnet; Larry L. Burriss; foreword by Paul D. FischerThis work presents twelve of the most volatile ethical issues facing the music industry. Real-life examples depict both sides of each controversy, and the list of resources provides tools for readers who wish to pursue the controversies further. Primary sources including court cases and excerpts from speeches help students build critical thinking skills in current issues, persuasive writing, and debate classes. Among the controversies noted is the growing oligopoly of a few multinational music companies and the independent labels that are attempting to survive this market dominance. Drug abuse and violence depicted in music is discussed, as is its influence on young listeners. These issues and many more are discussed in detail as the authors outline the controversial topics of the music industry.
Call Number: ML3918.P67 B37 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-30
Dig: Sound and Music in Hip Culture by Phil FordHipsters have always used clothing, hairstyle, gesture, and slang to mark their distance from consensus culture, yet it is music that has always been the privileged means of cultural disaffiliation, the royal road to hip. Hipness in postwar America became an indelible part of the nation's intellectual and cultural landscape, and during the past half century, hip sensibility has structured self-understanding and self-representation, thought and art, in various recognizable ways. Although hipness is a famously elusive and changeable quality, what remains recognizable throughout its history in American intellectual life is a particular conception of the individual's alienation from society - alienation due not to any specific political wrong but to something more radical, a clash of perception and consciousness. The dominant culture thus constitutes a system bent on foreclosing the creativity, self-awareness, and self-expression by which people might find satisfaction in their lives. The hipster's project is to imagine this system and define himself against it; his task is to resist being stamped in its uniform, squarish mold. Culture then becomes the primary medium of hip resistance rather than political action as such, and this resistance is manifested in aesthetic creation, be that artworks or the very self. Music has stood consistently at the center of the evolving and alienated hipster's self-structuring: every hip subculture at least tags along with some kind of music (as the musically ungifted Beats did with jazz), and for many subcultures music is their raison d'etre. In Dig, author Phil Ford argues that hipness is in fact wedded to music at an altogether deeper level. In hip culture it is sound itself, and the faculty of hearing, that is the privileged part of the sensory experience. Ford's discussion of songs and albums in context of the social and political world illustrates how hip intellectuals conceived of sound as a way of challenging meaning - that which is cognitive and abstract, timeless and placeless - with experience - that which is embodied, concrete and anchored in place and time. Through Charlie Parker's "Ornithology," Ken Nordine's "Sound Museum," Bob Dylan's "Ballad of a Thin Man," and a string of other lucid and illuminating examples, Ford shows why and how music became a central facet of hipness and the counterculture. Shedding new light on an elusive and enigmatic culture, Dig is essential reading for students and scholars of popular music and culture, as well as anyone fascinated by the counterculture movement of the mid-twentieth-century.
Call Number: ML3470 .F67 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Don't Look BackSummary: Portrait of Dylan as a young man during the period when his music is shifting from acoustic to electric, filmed during his 1965 concert tour of England. '65 revisited' contains outtakes from Don't look back, with new commentary.
Call Number: DVD 781.66 D688B
Publication Date: 2006
Dylan Goes Electric! by Elijah WaldOne of the music world's preeminent critics takes a fresh and much-needed look at the day Dylan went electric at the Newport Folk Festival, timed to coincide with the event's fiftieth anniversary. On the evening of July 25, 1965, Bob Dylan took the stage at Newport Folk Festival, backed by an electric band, and roared into his new rock hit, Like a Rolling Stone. The audience of committed folk purists and political activists who had hailed him as their acoustic prophet reacted with a mix of shock, booing, and scattered cheers. It was the shot heard round the world; Dylan's declaration of musical independence, the end of the folk revival, and the birth of rock as the voice of a generation and one of the defining moments in twentieth-century music. In Dylan Goes Electric!, Elijah Wald explores the cultural, political and historical context of this seminal event that embodies the transformative decade that was the sixties. Wald delves deep into the folk revival, the rise of rock, and the tensions between traditional and groundbreaking music to provide new insights into Dylan';s artistic evolution, his special affinity to blues, his complex relationship to the folk establishment and his sometime mentor Pete Seeger, and the ways he reshaped popular music forever. Breaking new ground on a story we think we know, Dylan Goes Electric! is a thoughtful, sharp appraisal of the controversial event at Newport and a nuanced, provocative, analysis of why it matters.
Call Number: ML420.D95 W35 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Endless Harmony: The Beach Boys StorySummary: The Beach Boys themselves tell the inside story of their rise from suburban pop fledglings to American Institution. Includes exclusive interviews and the bands' own archival footage.
I Am Trying to Break Your HeartSummary: Follows the Chicago band, their personnel changes and label disputes, as they record (and attempt to release) their 2002 album "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot."
Call Number: DVD 781.66 I11W
Publication Date: 2006
It All Begins with the Music: Developing Successful Artists and Careers for the New Music Business by Don Grierson; Dan KimpelThe music industry is a worldwide business that generates more than 40 billion dollars each year. If you are looking to make your mark and grab a piece of this fortune, this is the book for you. It All Begins with the Music: Developing Successful Artists and Careers for the New Music Business offers practical information, career blueprints, and a world of wisdom for aspiring artists, managers, and executives on how to make an impact in today's music business. It provides a comprehensive examination of the new methods by which recording artists are discovered, developed, and nurtured in the modern music industry. Anyone can benefit, from potential recording artists and performers, to aspirants and professionals in artist management, major and independent music distribution channels, producers, agents, publicists, PR and marketing representatives, and music publishers. You'll find priceless behind-the-scenes information distilled from interviews with artists, managers, and executives at the forefront of the new music business. Get the insider tips you need, and begin your successful career in music today!
Call Number: ML3790 .G75 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
Music by Andrew ZuckermanFollowing the highly acclaimed Wisdom, Andrew Zuckerman now turns his unique photographic perspective to music. This new book includes fifty eminent musicians, artists, composers, producers, and performers from rock, rap, dance, soul, R&B, classical, country, reggae, pop, jazz, world, and more who have made an impact on their genre, contributed to the larger conversation, and have a unique perspective on life. Each musician is photographed and interviewed on film about the process of making music, the power of music, and the experience of writing, producing, and performing. The group includes emerging artists, as well as legends from a variety of genres, and together, they create a distinctive understanding of the universal language of music. Music features new portraits of and interviews with Laurie Anderson, Fiona Apple, Afrika Bambaataa, Clint Black, Dave Brubeck, Common, Billy Corgan, David Crosby, Ani DiFranco, Danny Elfman, Ben Gibbard, Philip Glass, Herbie Hancock, Karen O, Kid Rock, Lenny Kravitz, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, Ziggy Marley, Ozzy Osbourne, Yoko Ono, Itzhak Perlman, Iggy Pop, Henry Rollins, Ravi Shankar, John Williams, and several other international music icons. Watch the trailer here: http://musicthebook.com/trailer.php
Call Number: ML87.M87 Z83 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-15
The Musician's Legal Companion by Michael A. AczonDon't sign a recording contract before reading this book! The Musician's Legal Companion, Second Edition gets to the core of the legal issues you need to know about, in clear, straightforward language. Here you'll find easy-to-comprehend explanations of the four main contracts used in the music business: recording artist, songwriter, artist management, and performance. You'll also discover how to make the relationship with your current or future attorney more fruitful and cost-effective. This new edition includes expanded coverage of topics such as the use of independent producers, 360° agreements, distribution and marketing agreements, how radio and other media fit into an artist's career, film and television agreements, digital distribution, name and likeness agreements, merchandising agreements, and much, much more. With more than 25 years in the music business as a lawyer, educator, and writer, interacting with many musicians both personally and professionally, Michael A. Aczon shares the many lessons he's learned and takes you on a journey to a better legal understanding of the entertainment industry and your music career.
Music, Money, and Success: The Insider's Guide to Making Money in the Music Business by Jeffrey Brabec; Todd BrabecMusic, Money and Success: The Insider's Guide to Making Money in the Music Busines is the industry bible and the ultimate guide to making money in the music business. Music is a business of money, contracts, decisions and making the most of every opportunity. To succeed - to make money - to have a career - you have to know what you are doing in both music and business. This invaluable book tells you how the business works, what you must know to succeed, and how much money you can make in films, television, video games, ASCAP, BMI and SESAC, record sales, downloads and streams, advertising, ringtones and ringbacks, interactive toys and dolls, Broadway, new media, scoring contracts and synch licenses, music publishing, foreign countries and much more. This indispensable reference is written by industry insiders Todd Brabec, Educator, Entertainment Law Attorney and former ASCAP Executive Vice President and Worldwide Director of Membership, and Jeff Brabec, Vice President of Business Affairs, Chrysalis Music Publishing.
Call Number: ML3790 .B73 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
A Natural Woman: A Memoir by Carole KingCarole King takes us from her early beginnings in Brooklyn, to her remarkable success as one of the world's most acclaimed songwriting and performing talents of all time. A NATURAL WOMAN chronicles King's extraordinary life, drawing readers into her musical world, including her phenomenally successful #1 album Tapestry, and into her journey as a performer, mother, wife and present-day activist. Deeply personal, King's long-awaited memoir offers readers a front-row seat to the woman behind the legend. The book will include dozens of photos from King's childhood, her own family, and behind-the-scenes images from her performances.
Call Number: ML410.K52 A3 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
Songwriters on Songwriting by Paul ZolloThis expanded fourth edition of Songwriters on Songwriting includes ten new interviews with Alanis Morissette, Lenny Kravitz, Lou Reed, and others. In these pages, sixty-two of the greatest songwriters of our time go straight to the source of the magic of songwriting by offering their thoughts, feelings, and opinions on their art. Representing almost every genre of popular music, from blues to pop to rock, here are the figures that have shaped American music as we know it.
Call Number: 782.4213 Z86S
Publication Date: ML3477 .Z65 2003
The Songwriting Sourcebook: How to Turn Chords into Great Songs by Rikky RooksbyOriginally published in 2003, and now revised and updated, The Songwriting Sourcebook is the third entry in Rikky Rooksby's bestselling How to Write Songs series. This easy-to-use book will help you write better songs by explaining the art of writing effective chord sequences. It shows: How three and four chords can lay the foundation for a simple song, and how to move on to progressions using five and six chords * How to give your chord sequences additional color by adding chords that are not strictly in key, including blues chords * How to write chord sequences for songs in minor keys as well as major keys, and how to take progressions into new territories by changing key * How to fine-tune the color of your chords by understanding the emotional potential of sevenths, sixths and ninths All examples come with easy-to-read guitar chord boxes, and the accompanying 20-track audio CD features original recordings that illustrate some of the points made in the book.
Call Number: MT67 .R66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) in Songs by Sara BareillesWith refreshing candor, Sounds Like Me reveals Sara Bareilles, the artist and the woman on songwriting, soul searching, and what's discovered along the way. Sara Bareilles shares the joys and the struggles that come with creating great work, all while staying true to yourself. Imbued with humor and marked by Sara's confessional writing style, this collection tells the inside story behind some of her most popular songs. Most recently known for her chart-topper Brave, Sara first broke through in 2007 with her multi-platinum single Love Song. She has released five albums that have sold 2.5 million copies and spawned several hits. More than a privileged view inside the experience of a remarkable musical talent, this is a moving tribute to the universal search for growth, healing, and self-acceptance.
Call Number: ML420.B36 A3 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
This Business of Music: The Definitive Guide to the Music Industry by M. William Krasilovsky; Sidney Shemel; John M. Gross (Contribution by); Jonathan S. Feinstein (Contribution by)The bible of the music industry! Now in its tenth edition, This Business of Music has been revised and completely updated to reflect the latest changes in the ever-evolving music business. Every chapter has been revised. An entirely new chapter has been added, asking and answering the question Are there borders in cyberspace? The answer is yes, and the book clearly and concisely explains what they are and how to maintain them. Commentary on recent legislation, a reader-friendly summary of the laws on copyright duration, and much more insightful analysis, plus fully updated lists of music organizations and important websites make This Business of Music indispensable for musicians, agents, managers, marketers, music publishers and groups, colleges and universities, and everyone who wants to make music and make money.