Skip to main content

Writing About the Arts

This Libguide is your place to get access to information to be most succesfull on your research paper for Karen Libby's class Writing About the Arts

Databases

Academic OneFile

Explore peer-reviewed, full-text articles covering the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, and literature.

American Film Scripts

Study the scenes and characters of 1,000 scripts, plus facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Most of the scripts are unpublished and digitally available here only.

ARTstor

Browse 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists' estates.

Britannica School - High

Consult primary sources, such as biographies, articles, and interactive resources for quick facts and in-depth information on history, geography, people, places, and science. Grades 9-12. School code is mel5.

Drama Online

Meet new writers alongside iconic names in playwriting history. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, you'll find them here.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Access scholarly journals and magazines for drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

JSTOR

Visit a digital library containing 1,500+ academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Literature Resource Center

Examine articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays and biographies to learn about authors, their works, and literary movements.

Music and Performing Arts Databases

Explore audio and video that spans all time periods, seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles in the music field.

Oxford Art Online

Access an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Oxford Music Online

Access multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006).

Theater in Video: Volume 1

Watch performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries streaming videos representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.